By default, Google allows group managers to invite and/or add you to their groups. This is annoying, causing spam, and you have to manually leave groups you didn’t want to join in the first place.
To stop the annoyance and prevent Google group managers from adding you up and/or sending you invitations, open your Manage My Memberships and under Invitation Preferences, tick these options:
- Do not allow group managers to invite me to their groups.
- Do not allow group managers to directly add me to their groups.
And if you’re interested, once you do this, the annoyance would fall on the group manager’s side. They will get “1 user does not permit managers to add them” message if they try to add your account.
To leave those annoying Google groups, click the Leave Group button from the My Membership screen for the group. If the Leave Group button doesn’t work for some reason, send a blank email to firstname.lastname@example.org. For example, if you want to leave the group email@example.com, you could remove yourself by sending a blank email to firstname.lastname@example.org. To confirm the cancellation of your subscription, you will receive an email that reads “Your unsubscription to groupname was successful.”
One more thing… Unsubscription isn’t an English word, Google!