Stop Direct Group Invitation and Add-Ups in Google Groups

By default, Google allows group managers to invite and/or add you to their groups. This is annoying, causing spam, and you have to manually leave groups you didn’t want to join in the first place.

To stop the annoyance and prevent Google group managers from adding you up and/or sending you invitations, open your Manage My Memberships and under Invitation Preferences, tick these options:

  • Do not allow group managers to invite me to their groups.
  • Do not allow group managers to directly add me to their groups.
Manage My Memberships - Google Groups

Google allows group managers to invite and/or add people to their groups by default. When ticked, these options are allowing a Google group user to avoid to be invited or added by Google group admins.

And if you’re interested, once you do this, the annoyance would fall on the group manager’s side. They will get “1 user does not permit managers to add them” message if they try to add your account.

To leave those annoying Google groups, click the Leave Group button from the My Membership screen for the group. If the Leave Group button doesn’t work for some reason, send a blank email to groupname+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com. For example, if you want to leave the group myfriends@googlegroups.com, you could remove yourself by sending a blank email to myfriends+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com. To confirm the cancellation of your subscription, you will receive an email that reads “Your unsubscription to groupname was successful.”

One more thing… Unsubscription isn’t an English word, Google!

2 thoughts on “Stop Direct Group Invitation and Add-Ups in Google Groups

  1. Many thanks for this. The default settings have changed and can now be found under “My Settings” > “Global Settings” where you can delist the check boxes under “Add/Invite settings”.

Leave a Reply to Farzad Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*